Friday, January 18, 2013

A Writer's Review of The Lesson by Suzanne Woods Fisher

{My Review}

The Lesson by Suzanne Woods Fisher was my fourth read for the Amish genre. It’s an interesting genre, though probably not my absolute favorite. But that aside, this series consists of three very well-written and well-put-together books. I probably won’t read any other Amish books excepting ones by Leslie Gould (that is, if she continues to write them in first person) and Suzanne Woods Fisher since we are literary agency-mates, and I like to be a supporter of my fellow Hartliners.

The story unfolding in this third book of the Stoney Ridge Seasons Series actually takes place quite a few years after the second book ends. The last we’d seen of Mary Kate (M.K.) Lapp, she was around nine or ten years old. Now she’s a nineteen year old, though at the beginning of the book, she still has some growing up to do.

From M.K.’s spirited interactions with Jimmy Fisher in the first two books, I really thought that he would be who she might end up with. But then Chris Yoder turned up on the scene and I wasn’t so sure.

I really enjoyed this book once the “set up” was established. I loved learning more and more about Chris Yoder and his family’s dysfunctional past. I also liked seeing M.K. grow up and mature into the fine young woman the hero of the book (no, I’m not telling who he is) needed her to be.

I also have Suzanne Woods Fishers first book, The Choice, on my book shelf—and I really hope I have the chance to read it one of these days.

I was given a paperback copy of this book by Revell in exchange for an honest review. I give The Lesson by Suzanne Woods Fisher 4 stars.  

{More About The Lesson}

Centered on one of Suzanne Woods Fisher’s most loved characters, this is the story fans have eagerly anticipated. The precocious M.K. is all grown up (well, almost) and ready to take on the world–with surprising results. Fisher’s trademark plot twists and turns are as unexpected and satisfying as ever in this third book in the Stoney Ridge Seasons series.
In her wildest dreams, spunky and impulsive nineteen-year-old Mary Kate Lapp never imagined herself behind a schoolteacher’s desk. A run-in (literally) with the schoolteacher compels her to act as a substitute teacher, just as her restless desire to see the world compels her to apply for a passport . . . just in case. The only thing of interest to M.K. in the sleepy Amish community of Stoney Ridge is the unexplained death of a sheep farmer that coincided with the arrival of a mysterious young man into the community. Frustrated that no one takes the crime seriously, she takes matters into her own hands. Unfortunately, as tends to be the case for M.K., she jumps headlong into trouble.

{About Suzanne Woods Fisher}

Suzanne Woods Fisher is the bestselling author of the Lancaster County Secrets series and the Stoney Ridge Seasons series, as well as nonfiction books about the Amish, including Amish Peace. She is also the coauthor of a new Amish children's series, The Adventures of Lily Lapp. Her interest in the Anabaptist cultures can be directly traced to her grandfather, who was raised in the Old Order German Baptist Brethren Church in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. Suzanne is a Carol Award winner and a Christy Award finalist. She is the host of internet radio show Amish Wisdom and a columnist for Christian Post and Cooking & Such magazines. She lives in California. For more information, please visit and connect with her on Twitter @suzannewfisher. Get Amish proverbs delivered right to your iPhone or iPad! Download the Free App

Click here to read more about Suzanne's guest post "The Story Behind The Lesson" on the LitFuse blog.
Check out my reviews for the first two books in this series, The Keeper and The Haven.

The Stoney Ridge Seasons Series 


The Lancaster County Secrets Series



The Adventures of Lily Lapp


The Letters by Suzanne Woods Fisher will begin a new series (The Inn of Eagle Hill) and will be introduced by Revell in 2013.

No comments: