Friday, October 12, 2012

A Writer's Review of “You Don't Know Me" by Susan May Warren

{My Review}

You Don’t Know Me is the sixth A Deep Haven Novel Susan May Warren has written over the years. It was much different than the first three, which were published years ago. The first three were good, but I can tell that Warren’s writing has been more finely honed since then. Which isn't at all surprising since she's a great encourager of aspiring authors like myself, going so far as to make an entire online community of Christian writers called My Book Therapy.

I haven’t read many of Warren’s books lately, but that was because I’ve been in my historical romance cocoon during the last few years trying to decide what kind of historical romance I wanted to write myself. I do like her books, and I knew going in to this blog tour that I would like whatever it was You Don’t Know Me was about strictly based on what a great story-crafter she is.

You Don’t Know Me was poignant. And even though it was a contemporary romantic suspense, it had that certain mood that I adore reading. I love it when at the beginning of a novel, you just know everything is hopeless—everything goes wrong, and it starts piling up so fast the heroine doesn’t know what to do, where to turn, how to survive. And yet, in the end—after many trials and heartaches—she gets everything she’s always wanted. 

I was given a paperback copy of this book by Tyndale House in order to read and give my honest review for a LitFuse Publicity Blog Tour. I give Susan May Warren’s You Don’t Know Me 4 Stars


{About the Book}

You Don’t Know Me, A Deep Haven Novel

Sometimes the secrets we keep to protect ourselves can be our undoing.

To all who know her, Annalise Decker is a model wife and mother. She’s a permanent member of the PTA, never misses a sporting event, and is constantly campaigning for her husband’s mayoral race.

No one knows that Annalise was once Deidre O’Reilly, a troubled young woman whose testimony put a dangerous criminal behind bars. Relocated through the Witness Security Program to the quaint harbor town of Deep Haven, Deidre received a new identity and a fresh start, which began when she fell in love with local real estate agent Nathan Decker.

Twenty years later, Annalise couldn’t be more unprepared for her past to catch up with her. When Agent Frank Harrison arrives with news that the man she testified against is out on parole and out for revenge, Annalise is forced to face the consequences of her secrets. Will she run again, or will she finally find the courage to trust those she loves most with both her past and her future?

{Meet Susan} 

 Susan May Warren is the RITA award-winning novelist of over thirty novels. A five-time Christy award finalist, a two-time RITA Finalist, she’s also a multi-winner of the Inspirational Readers Choice award, and the American Christian Fiction Writer’s Carol Award.

A seasoned women’s events speaker, she’s a popular writing teacher at conferences around the nation and the author of the beginning writer’s workbook: From the Inside-Out: discover, create and publish the novel in you!.

Find out more about Susan May at


{Susan May Warren’s Deep Haven Novels}


1 comment:

Susan said...

I read this series years ago when it was the first 3, but haven't had time to catch up with the new 3 yet. Great review, Dawn:)